Club History

Formed in 2012, North Wales Crusaders play in the Kingstone Press League 1. Based at the Queensway Stadium in Wrexham, the club has lifted three trophies since its formation.

On January 20th 2012 North Wales Crusaders played their first ever game in the shape of a friendly against Leigh East. In their inaugural season the Wrexham based side enjoyed an eighth placed finish winning seven out of their 18 league games.

2013 saw the club crowned champions loosing just two games on their way to the league title. They also enjoyed success in the Northern Rail bowl with a victory over London Skolars clinching the double for Clive Griffiths’ side.

Stepping up into the Championship following a successful 2013, the Crusaders finished in a respectable 11th. However, due to a league re-structure taking place this wasn’t enough to keep the club in the division as they were relegated along with five other teams.

Dropping back into an expanded League 1, the side did well to finish in fifth place in 2015. Under the leadership of Anthony Murray, who had taken the reins in June 2014, the Crusaders won 14 of their 22 league game and also lifted the iPro Sport cup following a victory over Swinton at Blackpool’s Bloomfield Road.

At the start of 2016 the club announced cuts to its playing budget though they retained a large majority of their 2015 squad. A competitive season saw the side finish in 10th place before going on to lose the League 1 shield final in a tightly contested game with Newcastle Thunder.

Following the departure of Anthony Murray at the end of 2016, the club moved quickly to appoint former Newcastle Thunder assistant coach, Mike Grady.

Club Records

Result Opposition Date
Biggest Winning Margin 82-6 West Hull 6/4/13
Biggest Losing Margin 98-4 Wigan Warriors 15/4/12
Most Points Scored 82-6 West Hull 6/4/13
Most Points Conceded 98-4 Wigan Warriors 15/4/12
Longest Winning Run 6 matches (3 Occasions) Oldham Roughyeds, Gateshead Thunder, Rochdale Hornets, South Wales Scorpions, West Hull & London Skolars (first occurrence) 3/3 – 14/04/2013
Longest Losing Run 8 matches Batley Bulldogs, Featherstone Rovers, Doncaster RLFC, Sheffield Eagles, Dewsbury Rams, Workington Town, Rochdale Hornets & Halifax 22/06-10/08/2014



First game: Friendly V Leigh East at Leigh Sports Village on 20/1/12. Won 12-34
First competitive game: Championship 1 V Barrow Raiders at Racecourse Ground on 11/3/12. Lost 24-26
First Challenge Cup game: V Toulouse Olympique at Racecourse Ground on 24/3/12. Won 28-10
First Northern Rail Cup game: V Oldham  Roughyeds at Racecourse Ground on 3/3/13. Won 48-12
First win: Challenge Cup V Toulouse Olympique at Racecourse Ground on 24/3/12. Won 28-10
Highest Attendance: 1,562 V South Wales Scorpions 1/9/13


First Try: Lee Hudson v Leigh East (20/1/12)
First competitive Try: Andy Moulsdale V Barrow Raiders (11/3/12)
First Drop Goal: Jamie Durbin v Rochdale Hornets (5/5/13)
Most Try’s in a Season: 29 – Rob Massam (2015)
Most Goals in a Season: 108 – Tommy Johnson (2015)
Most points in a Season: 264 – Tommy Johnson (2015)
Most Try’s in a Game: 5 – Rob Massam V Rochdale Hornets (30/6/13) & Jono Smith V Hemel Stags (16/5/15)
Most Goals in a Game: 11 – Tommy Johnson V West Hull (6/4/13) & Ian Mort V Hemel Stags (16/5/15)
Most points in a Game: 30 – Tommy Johnson V West Hull (6/4/13)
Oldest player: Ryan MacDonald 36 years, 1 month and 13 days – V Featherstone Rovers (6/04/14)
Youngest player: Lewys Weaver 18 years, 10 months, 29 days – V London Skolars (12/08/12)

Honours and Awards

Championship One Winners – 2013

Northern Rail Bowl Winners – 2013

iPro Sport Cup Winners – 2015


Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.